Mac Dropbox Selective Sync

Posted on  by admin

Dropbox Selective Sync in Mac Lorenzo Russo May 20, 2017 14:51; Updated; Follow. Selective Sync is a feature of the Dropbox desktop application that allows you to select only the folders you want to be synced to your computer. Selective Sync gives you the control to ensure you have only the files you need on any computer. What is Dropbox Selective Sync? Dropbox’s Selective Sync feature gives you the option to delete folders from your desktop hard drive and still have them saved on your cloud storage. Everyone has this feature available, even the users on the free plan. I recently got dropbox installed on my macbook. It's my work dropbox and I didn't realise that it would sync all of our work files and take up all of my hard drive space and memory. I looked into it and saw that you could use selective sync to unselect everything from dropbox to free up the space.

A selective sync conflict happens when you create a folder with the same name and in the same location as an unsynced folder.

If you try to sync both folders, the newer folder will be appended with the words “selective sync conflict”.

Example of a selective sync conflict

Imagine you create a folder called 'Taxes.' If you uncheck 'Taxes' in your selective sync preferences, this will stop 'Taxes' from syncing to the Dropbox folder on your computer. If you then create a new folder called 'Taxes' in the same location on your computer, Dropbox won't sync that folder. If you then sync both the original 'Taxes' folder in your account and the new 'Taxes' folder on your computer, the new one will be appended with the words “selective sync conflict”.

What do I do now?

How To Use Selective Sync Dropbox Mac

All of your files are still safe in both folders. Here are some options you can take:

  • Simply leave them alone, and let one continue to have the name appended with “selective sync conflict”
  • Change the name of the conflict folder
  • Consolidate the files you need from both folders into one of the folders
Mac Dropbox Selective Sync

Dropbox For Mac Selective Syncing

How do I prevent a selective sync conflict from happening again?

If you’d like to avoid selective sync conflicts in the future, check your Dropbox account online to make sure the folder you’re about to create doesn’t already exist in the same location.

Dropbox Selective Sync Mac Not Working

Experiencing a different type of conflict?

Sync Dropbox With Pc

You may get an error message related to a different type of file conflict. Learn how to resolve each type: